## Submitting a permit without a contractor

## **Important Notice**

The Code of Virginia, Title 54.1, Chapter 11, requires an owner/developer to be licensed as a Virginia Class A, B, or C contractor unless the applicable exceptions are met. The code defines an owner/developer as any person who performs or supervises the construction, removal, repair or improvement of any building or structure permanently annexed to real property owned, controlled or leased when the total value of all such improvements to any single parcel of land is \$1000 or more.

The following excerpts are from the Code of Virginia §54.1-1101 concerning owners of properties doing their own work and exemption from contractor license requirements.

- Any person who performs or supervises the construction, removal, repair or improvement of no more than one primary residence owned by him and for his own use during any 24-month period;
- Any person who performs or supervises the construction, removal, repair or
  improvement of a house upon his own real property as a bona fide gift to a member of
  his immediate family provided such member lives in the house. For purposes of this
  section, "immediate family" includes one's mother, father, son, daughter, brother,
  sister, grandchild, grandparent, mother-in-law and father-in-law;
- Any person who performs or supervises the repair or improvement of industrial or manufacturing facilities, or a commercial or retail building, for his own use;
- Any person who performs or supervises the repair or improvement of residential dwelling units owned by him that are subject to the Virginia Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (§ 55.1-1200 et seq.);

## Responsibility

The applicant should understand that when acting as their own contractor, liability, damages, and all other responsibilities ultimately fall on them. They are also responsible for knowledge of the code requirements, corrections to plans resulting from the plan review process, corrections of violations found resulting from required inspections and obtention of certificate(s) of occupancy when applicable.

It should also be understood that when an applicant constructs, or re-models their own residence, they are required to reside in that same structure for a period of not less than 24 months.

A person or business, such as a LLC, performing alterations or house flipping that involves work requiring a permit are required to be licensed as a contractor.