
 
 
 
 

 
Owner/Developer Affidavit 

 
The Code of Virginia, Title 54.1, Chapter 11, requires an owner/developer (as defined below) to be licensed as a  Virginia Class A, 

B, or C contractor unless the applicable exceptions are met. The code defines an owner/developer as any person who performs or 

supervises the construction, removal, repair or improvement of any building or structure permanently annexed to real property owned, 

controlled or leased when the total value of all such improvements to any single parcel of land is $1,000.00 or more. I/We affirm that I/We 

understand that an owner/developer must be licensed as a Class “C” contractor for any project of $1,000.00 but less than $10,000.00 with the 

total value within any twelve-month period being no more than $150,000.00; Class “B” contractor for any project of $10,000.00 but less than 

$120,000.00 with the total value within any twelve-month period being $150,000.00 or more, but less than $500,000; Class “A” contractor for any 

project of $120,000.00 or more with the total value within any twelve-month period being $500,000.00 or more. This affidavit must be completed, 

(unless the exceptions are met), by the property owner/developer doing the work listed on the application and must be submitted prior to 

permit issuance. If you have any questions, please call the Building Code Division at 540-432-7700, prior to signing this form. Our permit 

technicians can notarize the form in your presence at no charge. Copies of signed affidavits cannot be accepted. 

The term owner/developer does not include a person who performs or supervises the construction, removal, repair or improvement 

for any of the following:  

1. Not more than one pr imary res idence owned by h im and for h i s  own use during any twenty-four month period. 

2. A house o n  h i s  p r o p e r t y  a s  a  b o n a  f i d e  g i f t  to a member of his immediate family provided such member lives in the 

house.  "Immediate family" includes one's mother, father, son, daughter, brother, sister, grandchild, grandparent, mother-

in-law and father-in-law. 

3. An industrial, manufacturing facility, or a commercial or retail building, for his own use.    

 
(Please Print)  
 
I,                                                 ,  hereby   swear  under  oath  that,   to  the  best  of  my  knowledge, that I am  the  
 
owner/developer of the property  listed  below and affirm  that  the owner  is exempt  from  licensing  requirements which pertain  to an  
 
owner/developer as defined in the Code of Virginia. 

 
Parcel Address:                                                                                                                                                                                                          

Owner/Company Name:                                                                                                                                                                                        

Owner M a i l i n g  Address:                                                                                                                                                                     

Signature:   Title:  Date:    
 

(For Notary Use Only): 
 

State/District of            Virginia        City/County of     Harrisonburg      I,                                                                               , a Notary Public  in and for  
 
the aforesaid State/District hereby certify  that the following  person:                                        appeared before me in the State/District  
 
and City/County aforesaid and executed this affidavit on the following  date:  (month, day, year.            /           /                  

 
Notary Signature:                                                                                  
 
Registration Number:                                            

 

My Commission Expires:                                          
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