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Moped Deadline Fast Approaching  
 
Harrisonburg, Va. The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and the Harrisonburg Police Department is 
reminding moped owners that the deadline to title and register mopeds is July 1, 2014. A title is $10, 
and an annual registration fee is $20.25. In an effort to enhance recovery of stolen mopeds and help in 
identification of the moped and driver in the event of a crash, DMV, at the request of the General 
Assembly, recommended the new requirements in a law that went into effect last summer.  

Virginia law also requires every moped driver to carry a government-issued photo ID - which does not 
have to be a driver's license - and every driver and passenger must also wear a face shield, safety glasses 
or goggles unless the moped has a windshield.  

According to DMV, there were more than 600 moped crashes in Virginia in 2013, and these new 
measures will allow law enforcement to more effectively deal with crashes. "I have been at the scene of 
moped crashes where I had no idea who the driver was, because they carried no ID or had a vehicle 
registration handy," said HPD Traffic Officer Ken Puffenbarger. "The new requirement will give us 
valuable information that can be passed quickly to those that need it," added Puffenbarger. 

DMV will issue one license plate per moped to be placed on the rear of the vehicle. Customers can also 
personalize their moped plate for $10 more.  

The deadline to comply with law is July 1, 2014 - title and register your moped today! 

For more information, visit dmvNOW.com/mopeds.   
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