Wear Your Mask - Wash Your Hands - Practice Distancing - Stay Home If Sick. COVID-19 Important Updates and Multilingual Resources.

Transportation Safety and Advisory Commission

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Board Description

The Transportation Safety and Advisory Commission reviews transportation (motor vehicle, bicycles, pedestrians, etc.) safety matters that are submitted to them either by citizens or by city staff and provides recommendations to the City on how to address the problem. Some issues reviewed have included: locations where multiple crashes occurred, a significant accident has occurred or concern that there may be a future accident; complaints about poor sight distance at an intersection; evaluation of the location of a new crosswalk before installation; or proposed changes in traffic patterns to improve safety.

Description of Transportation Safety and Advisory Commission in City Code Section 13-4-1 through 13-4-7.

Citizens with transportation safety concerns or issues may contact:

More information regarding the Bicycle and Pedestrian Subcommittee of this commission


Meeting Date/Time/Location
Transportation Safety and Advisory Commission meetings are scheduled for the second Wednesday of even months (every other month) at 8:30am, and are held at City Hall, 409 South Main Street, Room 011, Harrisonburg, VA 22801.  Meetings are always open to the public and citizens are encouraged to attend.

In accordance with the Emergency Ordinance to effectuate temporary changes in certain deadlines and to modify public meeting and public hearing practices and procedures to address continuity of operations associated with pandemic disaster, adopted on April 6, 2020, the public will not be able to physically attend Transportation Safety and Advisory Commission meetings at this time.

Community members and media will be able to watch the meeting live on:

Public comments must be received by 12:00pm (noon) the day prior to the meeting and will be shared with Commission members. Please email comments to: Jakob.Zumfelde@harrisonburgva.gov


2020 Meeting Schedule:

February 12
April 8  
June 10 
August 12  -  Meeting will not be held in person, see agenda for details.
October 14 - Meeting will be held VIRTUALLY, see agenda for details.
December 9


Meeting Agendas

Meeting Summaries


Commission Member Position  Area  Term
Kyle Lawrence  Chair At-Large Exp. 12-31-2022
William Blessing   Northeast Exp. 12-31-2022
Chance Ebersold   Southeast Exp. 12-31-2022
Marian Lebherz   At-Large Exp. 12-31-2022
Leonard VanWyk   Southwest Exp. 12-31-2020
Wayne Westfall Police    
Erin Yancey Public Works    

Questions or Comments?  Mail to City of Harrisonburg, Office of City Manager, Attn: (Board Member), 409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801.


Back to City Boards and Commissions.