• Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Commissioner of Revenue

The Office of the Commissioner of the Revenue appraises and assesses for taxation all real property in the City, assesses individual and business personal property taxes, issues business licenses, assists citizens with filing Virginia income taxes, administers special taxes on meals, lodging, admissions, utility services,short term rentals and mobile communications, and administers the City's real estate tax relief and exemption programs and the land use special assessment program.

As a state Constitutional Officer, the Virginia General Assembly first created the position of Commissioner of the Revenue in 1786. The Commissioner of the Revenue is elected by the citizens of Harrisonburg to a four-year term of office and serves at the pleasure of the voters. The Commissioner of the Revenue holds office as an agent of the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as local governments, and is the assessing officer on the local level for those taxes and licenses prescribed by state law and local ordinance.

More information about the Commissioner of the Revenue Karen Rose

 

Disclaimer
The City of Harrisonburg Commissioner of the Revenue makes every effort to ensure that the information provided on this site is correct, complete, and up to date. However, since the law is subject to constant change and interpretation, that cannot be guaranteed.

 

Phone: 540-432-7704

Fax: 540-432-7781

Address:
Commissioner of the Revenue Office
345 South Main Street
Harrisonburg, VA 22801

Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm (except holidays)

 

Commissioner of Revenue

Karen Rose - Karen.Rose@harrisonburgva.gov

 

Staff

Mary Shifflett- Chief Deputy - Mary.Shifflett@harrisonburgva.gov
Debbie Kite - Deputy, Business License Compliance - Debra.Kite@harrisonburgva.gov
Staci Green - Deputy, State and Local Taxes - Staci.Green@harrisonburgva.gov
Deanna Lam - Personal Property Supervisor - Deanna.Lam@harrisonburgva.gov
Ray Ergenbright - Auditor - Ray.Ergenbright@harrisonburgva.gov
Lisa Neunlist - Real Estate Director - Lisa.Neunlist@harrisonburgva.gov
Nancy Lawson - Administrative Assistant - Nancy.Lawson@harrisonburgva.gov
Dennsie L. Rice - Appraiser - Dennsie.Rice@harrisonburgva.gov
Rebecca R. Cantrell - Appraiser - Becky.Cantrell@harrisonburgva.gov
Marla C. Whitley - Real Estate Secretary - Marla.Whitley@harrisonburgva.gov

 

 

Subscribe