Upcoming City Events

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Use this helpful list for information on the next 30 upcoming city events.

Wednesday, February 8, 2023

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm

Saturday, February 11, 2023

  • Spend a fun filled evening with your sweetheart at the Community Activities Center. Music, refreshments, and a special photo will all be included in your evening.

    5:00pm to 6:30pm

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Monday, February 20, 2023

  • City offices will be closed in observance of Presidents' Day. Refuse for Monday, February 20 will be collected on Tuesday, February 21.

    (All day)

Tuesday, February 28, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Wednesday, March 1, 2023

  • All business and professional operations must purchase a business license before commencing operation in the City of Harrisonburg, including home based businesses. Business License Renewals are due by March 1.

    5:00pm

Saturday, March 4, 2023

  • Bring your little superhero to the Community Activities Center for the Superhero Party! This event is open to kindergarten to 5th grade students, city residents only.

    5:00pm to 6:30pm

Wednesday, March 8, 2023

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm

Tuesday, March 14, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Monday, March 20, 2023 to Thursday, March 23, 2023

Monday, March 27, 2023

  • The Bicycle and Pedestrian Subcommittee works to identify needs and opportunities for making Harrisonburg more walk and bike friendly.

    6:00pm to 8:00pm

Tuesday, March 28, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Friday, March 31, 2023

  • Filing deadline for personal property return for taxpayers operating a business in the City.

    5:00pm

Saturday, April 1, 2023

  • Come out to the Community Activities Center and Simms Center for the Harrisonburg Egg Hunt. Drop in any time between 10am and 12pm and find 10 eggs to collect your prize.

    10:00am to 12:00pm

Friday, April 7, 2023

  • City offices will be closed Friday, April 7, 2023 in observance of Spring Holiday. Refuse for Friday, April 7 will be collected on Friday, April 7 as scheduled.

    (All day)

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Wednesday, April 12, 2023

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm

Saturday, April 15, 2023

  • The 25th Annual Blacks Run Clean Up Day and Arbor Day will be a many small groups event.

    9:00am to 12:00pm

Tuesday, April 25, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Monday, May 1, 2023

  • All Virginia Income Tax returns must be filed or postmarked by May 2 (since May 1st falls on a Sunday in 2022).

    (All day)

Monday, May 1, 2023

Wednesday, May 3, 2023

  • The Stormwater Advisory Committee provides guidance to City Council and staff in the implementation of a Stormwater Management Program that will meet the requirements set forth by the Commonwealth of Virginia.

    5:00pm to 7:00pm

Tuesday, May 9, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Wednesday, May 10, 2023

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm

Saturday, May 13, 2023

  • Household hazardous wastes are defined as leftover household products that contain corrosive, toxic, ignitable, or reactive ingredients.

    8:00am to 12:00pm

Sunday, May 14, 2023 to Saturday, May 20, 2023

Monday, May 22, 2023

  • The Bicycle and Pedestrian Subcommittee works to identify needs and opportunities for making Harrisonburg more walk and bike friendly.

    6:00pm to 8:00pm

Tuesday, May 23, 2023

  • The City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Monday, May 29, 2023

  • City of Harrisonburg offices will be closed in observance of Memorial Day. Refuse for Monday, May 29 will be collected on Tuesday, May 30.

    (All day)

Monday, June 5, 2023

  • The tax rate for the City of Harrisonburg is .93 cents per hundred of assessed value, effective July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023.

    5:00pm