Wear Your Mask - Wash Your Hands - Practice Distancing - Stay Home If Sick. COVID-19 Important Updates and Multilingual Resources.

Upcoming City Events

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Use this helpful list for information on the next 30 upcoming city events.

Thursday, November 26, 2020

Friday, November 27, 2020

Monday, November 30, 2020 to Friday, December 4, 2020

Saturday, December 5, 2020

  • The tax rate for the City of Harrisonburg is .86 cents per hundred of assessed value, effective July 1, 2019. This rate is subject to change annually. The tax rate is set by City Council and decided upon each year in April.

    5:00pm

Monday, December 7, 2020 to Friday, December 11, 2020

Tuesday, December 8, 2020

  • City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Wednesday, December 9, 2020

  • The Environmental Performance Standards Advisory Committee provides guidance and recommendations to City Council in the establishment of environmental performance standards for public development and redeveloipment projects, and will encourage the private sector to meet these standards as well.

    5:00pm to 7:00pm

Wednesday, December 9, 2020

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm

Monday, December 14, 2020 to Friday, December 18, 2020

Monday, December 14, 2020 to Friday, December 18, 2020

Monday, December 14, 2020

  • Sign up and be home to receive a phone call from Santa's Helpers on Monday, December 14, between 5:30pm - 8:00pm.

    5:30pm to 8:00pm

Monday, December 21, 2020 to Friday, December 25, 2020

Tuesday, December 22, 2020

Thursday, December 24, 2020

  • City offices will be closed in observance of Christmas Eve. Refuse for Thursday, December 24 will be collected on Wednesday, December 23.

    (All day)

Friday, December 25, 2020

  • City of Harrisonburg offices will be closed Thursday, December 24, 2020 - Friday, December 25, 2020 in observance of Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

    (All day)

Monday, January 11, 2021

Tuesday, January 12, 2021

  • City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Wednesday, January 13, 2021

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm

Monday, January 25, 2021

  • The Bicycle and Pedestrian Subcommittee works to identify needs and opportunities for making Harrisonburg more walk and bike friendly.

    6:00pm to 8:00pm

Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Tuesday, January 26, 2021

  • City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Saturday, January 30, 2021

  • In accordance with City Code, each outside agency or charitable organization which requests a financial contribution from the City or currently receives a financial contribution from the City must submit its request by January 30th of each year.

    5:00pm

Sunday, January 31, 2021

  • Individuals owning a dog within the City of Harrisonburg are required to obtain a dog license for each dog he/she owns pursuant Section 15-2-8 of the Harrisonburg City Code.

    5:00pm

Monday, February 1, 2021

Wednesday, February 3, 2021

  • The Stormwater Advisory Committee provides guidance to City Council and staff in the implementation of a Stormwater Management Program that will meet the requirements set forth by the Commonwealth of Virginia.

    5:00pm to 7:00pm

Monday, February 8, 2021

Tuesday, February 9, 2021

  • City Council meets at 7:00pm every second and fourth Tuesday of the month in Council Chambers (409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801). Meetings are open to the public.

    7:00pm

Wednesday, February 10, 2021

Wednesday, February 10, 2021

  • The Planning Commission meets in council chambers to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings.

    6:00pm